Trencherman’s Awards 2018 Winners Announced Trencherman’s Awards 2018 Winners Announced Trencherman’s Awards 2018 Winners Announced Trencherman’s Awards 2018 Winners Announced

Trencherman’s Awards 2018 Winners Announced

27 November 2017

Winners of the prestigious Trencherman’s Awards 2018 were revealed during a sumptuous ceremony at Salcombe Harbour Hotel last night. Food and drink connoisseurs from across the region congregated to celebrate the creativity and passion of the region’s chefs, hoteliers, restaurateurs, landlords and staff.

More than 20,000 votes were cast, making this fourth year of the Trencherman’s Awards the biggest celebration of the South West’s trailblazing talent yet.

Paul and Donna Berry from The Swan at Bampton were elated to win Best Dining Pub:
‘Donna and I want to thank everyone who helped us achieve this award,’ said Paul. ‘Thank you to all who voted and for the love shown on social media. We are not the best pub in the South West; we are one of a few very good ones. Our aim is to please and if we don’t do that, we fail.’

The Idle Rocks in St Mawes, Cornwall scooped Best Restaurant. Head chef Guy Owen said:
‘We are delighted to have achieved such a sought-after award. This is testament to our incredibly hard-working team at The Idle Rocks, from the management right through to the commis and kitchen porters. Nothing is possible without them.’

The fine dining guide celebrates 25 years as the West Country’s most authoritative resource for those seeking exquisite and exceptional places to dine and stay.

Trencherman’s editor Jo Rees from Salt Media said: ‘It’s difficult to get into the guide in the first place – restaurants have to meet a strict criteria with extremely high standards – so to win a Trencherman’s Award and to be considered the best of that illustrious community is hugely significant.’

‘Congratulations to all of the winners who scooped an award at the glamorous dinner at Salcombe Harbour Hotel.’

The Winners:

Best Restaurant (sponsored by Total Produce) Winner: The Idle Rocks, St Mawes

Best Dining Pub (sponsored by ImpactWinner: The Swan, Bampton

Best Chef (sponsored by Hallgarten Druitt & Novum Wines) Winner: Michael Wignall, Gidleigh Park

Best Front of House Team (sponsored by Sharp’s BreweryWinner: Lewtrenchard Manor, Okehampton

Best Dine and Stay Experience (sponsored by ResDiaryWinner: Glazebrook House Hotel, South Brent

Best Bar List (sponsored by Salcombe GinWinner: The Pump House, Bristol

Award for Creativity and Innovation (sponsored by Churchill 1795) Winner: Lympstone Manor, Exmouth

A spectacular six course meal, crafted by last year’s winners, was served during the lavish awards ceremony and was matched with a stunning selection of wines from Hallgarten Druitt & Novum Wines.